The Chakra System

Posted On : January 12th, 2009 by Rin

Tags: , , , ,

A Chakra is a sanksrit word that literally translates as "wheel" or "disk".  It is a eastern concept of Indian origin that chakras are treated as "energy vortexes", and their sacred balance is crucial to our physical,mental,emotional, and spritual well being.  There are a total of 7 chakras in the actual chakra system. Each of these seven chakras, are located in different areas of the body. I will not go into too much detail about each chakra in this post. Instead, in the near future I am going to writing seperate posts for each chakra and go into detail about what each of their purposes are.  However, here is a list of the seven chakras with their locations and a brief description of what they are responsible for.

  1. Sahasrara/The Crown Chakra: Located at the top of the head. The crown chakra is linked to understanding, cosmic consciousness, and ability to eventually achieve enlightenment.

  2. Ajna/The Third Eye Chakra: Located at the middle of the forehead.  The third eye chakra is directly linked to an individual’s clairvoyance or psychic abilities and intuition.

  3. Vishuddha/The Throat Chakra: Located at the throat. A person with a strong and balanced throat chakra will have good communication skills and creativity.

  4. Anahata/The Heart Chakra: Located at the center of the chest, a person with a healthy heart chakra will have a strong ability to love his or herself as well as others.  It is also the center of hope and compassion.

  5. Manipura/The Solar Plexus Chakra: Located at the solar plexus. This chakra is the center of  energy,vitality, desire, and power.

  6. Svadisthana/The Sacral Chakra: Located just below the belly button. This chakra is the source of emotions,sexuality, and intimacy.

  7. Muladhara/The Root Chakra: Located at the base of the spine. This is where your survival instinct comes from. It is also a source of security and grounding.

There you have it, like I said I will go into more detail about each of the seven chakras eventually. I hope this has given you at least a brief overview of the chakras. In my next post I am going to go talk about how to properly open these chakras and balance them. By doing so, you will immediately notice a stronger sense of well being,peace, and empowerment.


Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • TwitThis
This entry was posted on Monday, January 12th, 2009 at 12:15 am and is filed under chakras. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.